What This Guide Covers
What We Found
Most guides give you a range like “$50 to $500 a month” and leave it there. We wanted real numbers. In August 2026 we checked the websites of 70 ice machine rental companies across 34 states and wrote down every price, fee, and contract term they publish. Here is the short version.
Rental company websites we checked
34 states; 67 full-service providers, 1 equipment-lease site, 2 event-rental companies
Companies that publish any price
15 of 67. The other 78% make you call for a quote
Median advertised starting rate
Range $88 to $195 across 14 companies
Include breakdown ice or a refund
Only 12 of 67 promise it on their site
Three things stood out. First, the price barely moves between a small machine and a mid-size one: the median published rate is $145 for an undercounter unit and $180 for a machine that makes up to 600 pounds a day. The big jump comes at 1,000 pounds a day, where the median is $405. Second, the monthly rate is only part of the bill. Sales tax, electricity, and water can add 20 to 45 percent on top. Third, the fine print varies a lot. Some companies include setup, filters, and emergency ice. Others charge $450 to set up, $28 a month for a filter, or twelve months of billing if you leave early.
How we got these numbers
We searched for ice machine rental companies in major metros in every region, then opened each company’s own rental, pricing, FAQ, and terms pages. We recorded a number only if it appeared on the page, and we saved the exact sentence for every one. We added equipment price data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, energy and water use from the EPA’s ENERGY STAR database, current water and sewer rates from 10 city utilities, sales tax rules for all 50 states, and live bagged-ice prices from five retailers. Read the full method or jump to the sources.
Typical Ice Machine Rental Cost by Machine Size
Of the 67 full-service rental companies we checked, only 15 publish a price. Their advertised starting rates run from $88 a month (Texas Ice Machine Company, Dallas–Fort Worth) to $195 a month (Boer Brothers, Raleigh–Durham). The median is $132, and the middle half of companies fall between $107 and $180.
A starting rate is the cheapest machine a company offers. Size-matched rates tell you more. When a company lists prices by how much ice the machine makes, the pattern is clear: the price rises slowly through the small and mid-size classes, then jumps at 1,000 pounds a day.
Published monthly rental rates by machine size
Full-service rates published by rental companies, August 2026. Bar = lowest to highest published rate for the class; dark tick = median. Cube ice, standard term.
Source: our survey of 70 rental company websites; 15 publish prices. n = number of size-matched published rates in each class. See sources.
| Machine size | Published full-service rates we found | Range | Median |
|---|---|---|---|
| Undercounter / small Up to about 300 lbs/day | Draft Doctor 225 lb $109 · Memphis Ice up to 300 lb about $120 ($4/day) · Kal-ice up to 100 lb $129 · Wagner 0–200 lb $145 (new machine with bin; used $95) · Easy Ice up to 250 lb $170 · Crystal Clear 125 lb nugget dispenser $184.95 · Boer Brothers 100–200 lb $195 | $109–$195 | $145 |
| Mid-size modular 300 to 600 lbs/day | Kal-ice 400 lb $159 · Draft Doctor 550 lb $159 · Wagner 250–500 lb $165 · ICC Cold Storage smallest cabinets $180 (water-cooled) and $195 (air-cooled) · Easy Ice up to 550 lb $210 · Boer Brothers 300–500 lb $279 | $159–$279 | $180 |
| Large 600 to 1,000 lbs/day | Wagner 550–750 lb $180 · Draft Doctor 900 lb $189 · Wagner 800–1,000 lb $225 · Kal-ice 800 lb $239 · Boer Brothers 700–900 lb $310 | $180–$310 | $225 |
| High volume 1,000+ lbs/day | Draft Doctor 1,800 lb $349 · Boer Brothers 1,000–1,200 lb $360 · ICC 48-inch air-cooled up to $405 · Easy Ice up to 1,500 lb $460 · ICC 48-inch water-cooled up to $524 | $349–$524 | $405 |
Maumee Valley Group (Ohio, Michigan, Indiana) also publishes approximate prices of $180–$230, $240–$285, and $350–$450, but sizes them by users served per day rather than pounds of ice, so we left them out of the statistics.
Quick takeaway: Going up one size class is cheap. The median published rate rises only 24 percent from a small machine to a mid-size one ($145 to $180), and 25 percent from mid-size to large ($180 to $225). Going to a 1,000-pound machine is not cheap: the median jumps 80 percent to $405. Size for your busiest day plus a buffer, but do not jump two classes “just in case.” Our ice machine sizing calculator can help you find the right number.
The 15 companies that publish a price
These are the rates we found, quoted the way each company states them. Rates marked “derived” are our arithmetic on a daily rate. Every company is linked in the sources.
| Company | Area | Published rate | Setup fee | Term / cancellation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Texas Ice Machine Company | Dallas–Fort Worth, TX | “Rentals start as low as $88/month.” | “No installation charge” | “Short or long term leases available” |
| Avalanche Ice | Jacksonville, FL and SE Georgia | “$3 to $18 per day” (about $90 to $540 a month, derived); first and last month up front | “No installation fees whatsoever” | 3-year lease; non-transferable |
| Wagner Mechanical Leasing | Buffalo, NY | “Start as low as $100 per month.” Contract sheet: new machine with bin $145 (0–200 lb), $165 (250–500), $180 (550–750), $225 (800–1,000); used from $95 | $125 (contract sheet); “starting at $300” (web page) | 1 year, then month to month; $400 penalty if cancelled in year one |
| Draft Doctor / Cathedral Park Ice | Portland, OR; Seattle and Spokane, WA | $109 (225 lb undercounter), $159 (550 lb), $189 (900 lb), $349 (1,800 lb) | $289 (up to 900 lb), $349 (1,800 lb) | Not stated; water filter $64 per change |
| Memphis Ice Machine Company | Memphis and Jackson, TN | “As low as $4 a day” for a 300 lb machine (about $120 a month, derived) | Not stated | 12-month initial commitment; one cleaning a year |
| Tidy Ice | South Florida | “Starting at $125/month. All-inclusive. No hidden fees.” | Included | Not stated |
| Kal-ice | Southern California | $129 + tax (up to 100 lb), $159 + tax (400 lb), $239 + tax (800 lb); +$10 in Los Angeles and San Diego counties | Not stated | Not stated |
| Airplus Refrigeration | Los Angeles, CA | “Starting as low as $134.99* a month” (300 to 1,800 lb machines) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Easy Ice | National | Undercounter up to 250 lb $170; modular up to 550 lb $210; large modular up to 1,500 lb $460; ice and water dispensers $320; nugget and flake $320; specialty ice $335 (“starting at”) | FAQ: about two months of your subscription; subscription page: no extra charge | Standard subscriptions cancel on 30 days’ notice |
| Crystal Ice | Tampa Bay, FL | “Leasing from $175/mo — all repairs, cleanings, and maintenance included.” | Not stated | “No contracts.” |
| ICC Cold Storage Products | Northern Indiana | Scotsman air-cooled $195–$405; water-cooled $180–$524 (30- to 48-inch cabinets); bins included; $28/mo filter system required | $250 delivery and setup | “Without being tied down to a long-term rental contract” |
| Maumee Valley Group | Ohio, Michigan, Indiana | Approx. $180–$230, $240–$285, $350–$450 by users served per day | Free | Not stated |
| Crystal Clear Bottled Water | Iowa | $184.95 for a 125 lb Follett nugget ice and water dispenser, “includes all maintenance and service” | Not stated | Not stated |
| Boer Brothers Restaurant Services | Raleigh–Durham–Chapel Hill, NC | $195 (100–200 lb), $279 (300–500), $310 (700–900), $360 (1,000–1,200); “Sales Tax not included” | $450 on every size | 30-day cancellation policy |
| Business Water Solutions | Georgia, Alabama, Tennessee | Combo only: “Water + ice combos from $140/mo — all-inclusive” | Included | Month to month available |
What the Monthly Rate Actually Includes
“All-inclusive” means different things to different companies. We recorded what each of the 67 full-service providers says is in the monthly rate. Most say repairs are included. Far fewer say anything about filters, cleaning frequency, or what happens when the machine breaks down.
What 67 full-service rental companies say is included
Share of companies whose own website states it. Silence does not mean no. It means ask.
Source: our review of 67 full-service rental company websites, August 27, 2026.
Two details matter more than they look. Only 15 companies say how often they clean the machine, and when they do, two cleanings a year is the norm (9 of 15). Two companies clean once a year (Memphis Ice Machine Company, Tennessee Valley Ice), and two clean quarterly (Cresco, Aloha Ice Services). And breakdown ice, the bagged ice a company brings you while your machine is down, is promised by only 12 companies. Five offer a loaner machine instead. Empire Cooler in Chicago says in its lease terms that “complimentary ice delivery is not included in this agreement.”
Ask every company these three questions before you sign: How many cleanings a year? Are filters included? What happens if the machine goes down?
How Ice Type Changes the Price
Cube and crescent ice are the baseline. Nugget, flake, and specialty ice need different machines, and the published prices show a real premium. Easy Ice, the largest national subscription company, lists nugget and flake machines starting at $320 a month against $210 for a standard modular cube machine. That is 52 percent more. Its specialty and cocktail ice machines start at $335, or 60 percent more. On the equipment-lease side, LeaseHoshizaki lists a 431-pound flaker at $133.74 a month against $104.52 for a 387-pound cuber, a 28 percent premium.
| Comparison | Source | Premium |
|---|---|---|
| Nugget and flake (up to 1,500 lb) $320 vs modular cube (up to 550 lb) $210 | Easy Ice published starting prices | +52% |
| Specialty and cocktail ice (up to 500 lb) $335 vs modular cube $210 | Easy Ice | +60% |
| Ice and water dispenser (up to 260 lb) $320 vs undercounter cuber (up to 250 lb) $170 | Easy Ice | +88% |
| Flaker, 431 lb, $133.74 vs cuber, 387 lb, $104.52 | LeaseHoshizaki.com equipment lease | +28% |
| Flaker, 728 lb, $161.13 vs cuber, 520 lb, $126.10 | LeaseHoshizaki.com | +28% |
| Countertop dispenser (new) $155 vs 0–200 lb machine with bin $145 | Wagner Mechanical contract sheet | +7% |
| Nugget dispenser, 125 lb, $184.95 vs small-tier cube median $145 | Crystal Clear Bottled Water | +28% |
Ice-and-water dispensers carry their own premium. Easy Ice starts them at $320 against $170 for a plain undercounter machine. Wagner Mechanical in Buffalo charges far less for the upgrade: $155 for a countertop dispenser against $145 for a small machine with a bin. Our calculator uses the middle of that spread. If you need a dispenser, get the price in writing. To pick the right ice for your business, read our guide to the types of ice.
Equipment-Only Lease vs Full-Service Rental
There are two ways to pay monthly for an ice machine. An equipment lease or financing plan puts the machine in your kitchen for a monthly payment, and that is all. A full-service rental adds installation, cleanings, filters, repairs, and often breakdown ice. We priced both for the same size of machine.
For a mid-size head (400 to 550 pounds a day), financing estimates on WebstaurantStore and lease prices on LeaseIceMachine.com run from $77 to $126 a month, with a median of $106. Full-service rentals for that size have a median published rate of $180. The difference, about $74 a month or $890 a year, is what you pay for service. Published trade guides put a single commercial ice machine service call at $300 to $1,200, so one repair a year roughly covers the gap.
Equipment-only lease vs full-service rental, median monthly price
Same machine size, two ways to pay. The gap is what service costs.
Sources: WebstaurantStore financing estimates, LeaseIceMachine.com and LeaseHoshizaki.com lease prices, and our rental survey, August 27, 2026. Large and high-volume lease medians rest on one quote each.
| What is covered | Equipment-only lease | Full-service rental |
|---|---|---|
| Lower monthly price | Yes | No |
| Delivery and install | Shipping only | 36% say included; others charge $125 to $450 |
| Routine cleaning | No | Yes, usually twice a year |
| Repairs and parts | No (manufacturer warranty only) | 73% say included |
| Water filters | No | 24% say included |
| Ice if it breaks down | No | 18% promise ice or a refund |
| You own it at the end | Sometimes (lease-to-own) | No |
Not sure whether to rent, lease, or buy? Our rent vs buy guide works through the math with real August 2026 purchase prices.
Contract Length and Exit Fees
Here is a surprise. Only 10 of the 67 companies publish a minimum term at all. Where they do, 36 months is the most common: Avalanche Ice, Cresco, Iceworks, Lane Equipment, and Arkansas Ice Solution all start with a three-year agreement. Wagner Mechanical and Memphis Ice Machine Company require one year, Aloha Ice Services six months, and Star Foodservice offers 12, 24, 36, or 48 months. Twelve companies advertise the opposite: no long-term contract, or cancellation on 30 days’ notice.
We also looked for a discount for signing a longer term. We did not find one. No company we checked publishes a lower rate for a two- or three-year contract. The only published short-term premium is on LeaseIceMachine.com, which prices the same machine two ways: its month-to-month “rent” price is 15 to 17 percent above its “lease” price. That is where the month-to-month multiplier in our calculator comes from.
| Company | Published minimum term | Published exit terms |
|---|---|---|
| Wagner Mechanical Leasing (Buffalo, NY) | 1 year, then month to month | $400 “breached contract penalty” if cancelled before one year |
| Memphis Ice Machine Company (TN) | 12-month initial commitment | Not stated |
| Aloha Ice Services (Honolulu, HI) | 6 months, then month to month | One month’s rent as deposit at installation |
| Star Foodservice Equipment Repair (Cedar Rapids, IA) | 12, 24, 36 or 48 months | Not stated |
| George D. Lewis Company (Las Vegas, NV) | 2-year lease-to-own program | Not stated |
| Avalanche Ice (Jacksonville, FL) | 3-year lease | Non-transferable; typically pay out the remainder of the term if the business is sold |
| Cresco Inc (Gulfport, MS) | 36 months | Not stated |
| Iceworks (NM, TX, CO, OK, LA, UT) | 3 years standard | Not stated |
| Lane Equipment Company (Houston, TX) | 36 months standard | Not stated |
| Arkansas Ice Solution (AR) | 3-year agreement, then month to month | Not stated |
| Empire Cooler Service (Chicago, IL) | Initial term not published; renews automatically for one-year terms | Liquidated damages equal to 12 months of billing if terminated during the initial term; 1.5% monthly late interest; $100 failed-payment fee |
| Easy Ice (national) | “Most agreements are structured for long-term value” | Standard subscriptions: 30 days’ notice, billed through the notice period |
| Boer Brothers Restaurant Services (NC) | Not stated | 30-day cancellation policy |
| 10 companies incl. Florida Ice Machine Services, Polar Ice Machines, Crystal Ice, Tennessee Valley Ice, ICC Cold Storage, Light Soda On Tap, Chef’s Deal | Advertise no long-term contract | Not stated |
Read the exit terms before you sign. Wagner charges a flat $400 if you cancel in the first year. Empire Cooler’s lease terms call for “liquidated damages equal to twelve (12) months billing” if you leave during the initial term, and the agreement renews automatically for one-year terms. Avalanche Ice says its lease is non-transferable, so a business that is sold typically pays out the rest of the three-year term. Our rental agreement guide walks through this fine print in plain words.
Extra Costs: Setup, Filters, and Utilities
The monthly rate is not the whole story. Three other costs show up, on the first invoice, on the rental bill, or on your utility statement.
Setup and installation
Twenty-four of the 67 companies (36 percent) say installation is included or free. Five publish a separate fee: Wagner Mechanical $125 on its contract sheet (its web page says “starting at $300”), ICC Cold Storage $250, Draft Doctor $289 to $349, and Boer Brothers $450 on every size. Easy Ice’s FAQ describes a one-time installation fee “typically equal to about two months of your subscription,” which would be $340 on its $170 undercounter plan, although its subscription page says installs are at no extra charge. Ask which applies to you. Easy Ice also lists extra charges for copper drain lines, drain runs through a wall or well beyond six feet, drain pumps, water line installation, and moving equipment up or down stairs.
Water filters
Sixteen companies say filters are included. Four say they are extra: ICC Cold Storage requires a $28-a-month filter system with every rental, Draft Doctor charges $64 per filter change, and Ice Machines of Sacramento and Aloha Ice Services exclude filters. The other 47 do not say. A filter protects the machine and the ice, so if it is not included, budget about $11 to $28 a month for it.
Electricity and water
These never appear on the rental invoice, and they are bigger than most guides admit. We analyzed 588 ENERGY STAR certified commercial ice machines and priced the electricity at the April 2026 U.S. average commercial rate of 13.51 cents per kilowatt-hour. Then we pulled current commercial water and sewer rates from 10 city utilities. The chart shows what a machine costs to run at different daily outputs, using the median energy use for that size class and the median city water rate.
What an ice machine costs to run each month
Electricity at the median ENERGY STAR efficiency for each size class and 13.51¢/kWh; water and sewer for cube ice at $13.95 per 1,000 gallons, the median of 10 city rates. Assumes the machine makes this much ice every day.
Sources: our analysis of 588 ENERGY STAR certified commercial ice machines (medians: 8.50 kWh per 100 lbs under 200 lbs/day; 5.50 for 200–500; 4.80 for 500–1,000; 4.02 for 1,000+); EIA average commercial electricity price, April 2026; city utility rate schedules below.
Two things to notice. Small undercounter machines use about twice the energy per pound of ice as large modular units, so 200 pounds a day costs about $69 a month in electricity on an undercounter unit but $45 on a mid-size head. And water rates vary more than three-fold by city, from $9.20 per 1,000 gallons in Denver to $25.37 in Atlanta. A cube machine making 300 pounds a day uses about 1,575 gallons a month, which is $14 in Denver and $40 in Atlanta. Nugget and flake machines use about 31 percent less water per pound than cube machines.
| City | Water + sewer per 1,000 gal | 300 lbs/day cube machine | 500 lbs/day cube machine | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Denver, CO | $9.20 | $14/mo | $24/mo | Denver Water 2026 tier 1 + city sewer (2024 rate) |
| Chicago, IL | $9.76 | $15/mo | $26/mo | June 2025 rate; sewer = 100% of water |
| Dallas, TX | $10.87 | $17/mo | $29/mo | General service, FY2025–26 |
| Phoenix, AZ | $11.97 | $19/mo | $31/mo | Medium season + commercial sewer |
| Nashville, TN | $13.81 | $22/mo | $36/mo | Non-residential, Jan 2026 |
| Charlotte, NC | $14.08 | $22/mo | $37/mo | Commercial, FY2027 |
| Miami-Dade, FL | $17.08 | $27/mo | $45/mo | Non-residential, Oct 2025 |
| New York City | $18.53 | $29/mo | $49/mo | FY2027; sewer = 159% of water |
| Houston, TX | $21.14 | $33/mo | $55/mo | Commercial, Apr 2026 |
| Atlanta, GA | $25.37 | $40/mo | $67/mo | Tier 2 (>3–6 CCF); tier 1 is $16.47 |
Commercial volumetric rates read from each utility’s own rate schedule on August 27, 2026. A 300 lbs/day cube machine uses about 1,575 gallons a month; 500 lbs/day about 2,625. Los Angeles and Tulsa are not shown because their commercial rate tables could not be read from the published documents.
Sales Tax on Your Rental, by State
In roughly 38 states plus Washington, D.C., sales tax is charged on every monthly rental payment. On a $180 rental that adds $10 to $18 a month, or $125 to $219 a year, depending on where you are. Two of the companies in our survey say so on their own pages: Boer Brothers notes “Sales Tax not included,” and Kal-ice lists every price “+Tax.”
Seven states work differently. In California, Colorado, Illinois, Michigan, Missouri, Nevada, and North Dakota the rental company can pay tax when it buys the machine instead, so the tax may never show on your invoice. Illinois has a twist: the City of Chicago adds its own 9 percent Personal Property Lease Transaction Tax to lease payments. Maine switched to taxing each lease payment on January 1, 2025. Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon have no statewide sales tax. The calculator at the top of the page applies your state’s rule automatically.
| State | Average combined rate | Added to a $180/mo rental | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Louisiana | 10.13% | +$18.23 | +$219 |
| Tennessee | 9.61% | +$17.30 | +$208 |
| Washington | 9.57% | +$17.23 | +$207 |
| Arkansas | 9.48% | +$17.06 | +$205 |
| Alabama | 9.46% | +$17.03 | +$204 |
| Oklahoma | 9.06% | +$16.31 | +$196 |
| New York | 8.54% | +$15.37 | +$184 |
| Arizona | 8.54% | +$15.37 | +$184 |
| Texas | 8.20% | +$14.76 | +$177 |
| Georgia | 7.56% | +$13.61 | +$163 |
| North Carolina | 7.10% | +$12.78 | +$153 |
| Florida | 6.98% | +$12.56 | +$151 |
| Pennsylvania | 6.34% | +$11.41 | +$137 |
| Massachusetts | 6.25% | +$11.25 | +$135 |
| Virginia | 5.77% | +$10.39 | +$125 |
| Chicago lease transaction tax | 9.00% | +$16.20 | +$194 |
Rates are state averages of combined state and local sales tax from the Tax Foundation’s midyear 2026 report; your city’s rate may differ. Taxability by state from TaxValet (updated October 2025) and the Sales Tax Institute. This is general information, not tax advice.
Bagged Ice vs Renting: Where the Break-Even Falls
For a very small business, the real alternative to renting is buying bags. We priced bagged ice on live retailer pages on August 27, 2026. A 20-pound bag was $2.97 at Sam’s Club (14.9 cents a pound), $3.98 at Walmart (19.9 cents), and $4.49 at BJ’s (22.5 cents). Smaller bags cost more per pound: $2.50 for 10 pounds at H-E-B (25 cents) and $2.59 for 7 pounds at Target (37 cents). Wholesale ice delivery companies do not publish prices; the one figure we found was a Long Beach supplier whose minimum drop of 350 pounds “starts from $100.”
The math turns against bags quickly. At 20 cents a pound, a business using just 22 pounds of ice a day already spends the median $132 rental on bags each month, before anyone drives to the store. Use the tool to see where your break-even falls.
Bagged ice vs the median rental
Slide to your daily ice use and pick a bag price. Rental = $132, the median published starting rate.
$149 a month in bags
| Retailer | Product | Price | Per lb | 100 lbs/day costs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sam’s Club | Home City Ice, 20 lb | $2.97 | 14.9¢ | $446/mo |
| Walmart | Reddy Ice, 10 lb | $1.88 | 18.8¢ | $564/mo |
| Walmart | Home City Ice, 20 lb | $3.98 | 19.9¢ | $597/mo |
| BJ’s Wholesale | Arctic Glacier Premium, 20 lb | $4.49 | 22.5¢ | $674/mo |
| H-E-B | H-E-B Cubed Ice, 10 lb | $2.50 | 25.0¢ | $750/mo |
| Target | Reddy Ice Premium, 7 lb | $2.59 | 37.0¢ | $1,110/mo |
| Target | Arctic Glacier, 7 lb | $2.99 | 42.7¢ | $1,281/mo |
Prices read from live retailer product pages on August 27, 2026; store pricing varies by location. Warehouse club prices require a membership.
Why Rental Prices Went Up
If you last priced an ice machine rental before 2022, your numbers are stale. Rental companies buy the machines you rent, and the price of that equipment has jumped. We pulled the Bureau of Labor Statistics producer price index for commercial refrigeration equipment. It is up 89 percent since January 2020. Most of the increase came in 2021 and 2022, but it has not stopped: the index rose another 7 percent in the first half of 2026.
Producer prices for commercial refrigeration equipment, 2019–2026
Index, 1982 = 100, not seasonally adjusted. Up 89% from January 2020 to July 2026.
Table view
| Month | Index | Change from prior point |
|---|---|---|
| Jan 2019 | 242.7 | — |
| Jan 2020 | 249.2 | +2.7% |
| Jan 2021 | 252.8 | +1.4% |
| Jan 2022 | 334.4 | +32.3% |
| Jan 2023 | 398.8 | +19.2% |
| Jan 2024 | 404.8 | +1.5% |
| Jan 2025 | 418.3 | +3.3% |
| Jan 2026 | 439.9 | +5.2% |
| Jul 2026 | 471.2 | +7.1% in six months |
Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Producer Price Index by Commodity: Commercial Refrigeration Equipment (series WPU114803), via FRED, retrieved August 27, 2026.
Worked Examples
Here are four businesses priced with the numbers on this page. The rental rate is the median published rate for that size (or Easy Ice’s published nugget price), sales tax is the state average, and electricity and water assume the machine makes the stated amount of ice every day. These are worked examples on August 2026 published rates, not quotes.
Small Office
100 lbs a day, cube ice, undercounter · Dallas, TX
- Rental (small-tier median)$145
- Sales tax$11.89 (8.20%)
- Electricity$34.45
- Water and sewer$5.71
Coffee Shop
300 lbs a day, nugget ice · Nashville, TN
- Rental (Easy Ice nugget, published)$320
- Sales tax$30.75 (9.61%)
- Electricity$66.87
- Water and sewer$14.91
Restaurant
500 lbs a day, cube ice, modular · Houston, TX
- Rental (mid-size median)$180
- Sales tax$14.76 (8.20%)
- Electricity$97.27
- Water and sewer$55.49
Mid-Size Hotel
1,000 lbs a day, cube ice · New York City
- Rental (1,000+ median)$405
- Sales tax$34.59 (8.54%)
- Electricity$162.93
- Water and sewer$97.28
Look at the restaurant. In Houston, the electricity and water for a machine making 500 pounds a day come to $153 a month, or 85 percent of the rental itself. That is the single most useful thing to know about “extra costs.” Your own cost follows your own ice use and your own city’s rates.
How We Did This Research
We ran this study on August 27, 2026. We searched for ice machine rental companies in the major metros of every U.S. region, then opened each company’s own rental, pricing, FAQ, and terms pages. We left out lead-generation sites, blogs, marketplaces, and dealers that only sell machines. One site that came up often, Ice Maker Depot, turned out to be a quote-matching service whose price table is labeled “market averages,” so we excluded it too.
We checked 70 sites in total. Of those, 67 are full-service rental or lease providers, one is a national equipment-lease marketplace, and two rent machines for events only. We recorded a number only if it appeared on the page, and we saved the exact sentence for each one. We then re-opened ten of the fifteen price-publishing pages and one lease agreement to double-check the figures before publishing.
Some limits to keep in mind. These are advertised prices, not what customers actually pay after negotiation. The 70 companies are the ones that rank in search for big metros, not a random sample of the industry. And 14 starting rates is too few to call a national average, which is why we report the median and the range instead. For the equipment data, we analyzed 588 ENERGY STAR certified machines from the EPA’s public database, priced electricity at the EIA’s April 2026 average commercial rate, and read water and sewer rates from each city utility’s own rate schedule. Sales tax rules come from published state-by-state tax guides and the Tax Foundation’s midyear 2026 rate report. Every source is listed below.
Sources
Every figure on this page comes from one of the sources below. Company pages were read on August 27, 2026, and companies can change their published rates at any time. Links to company sites open in a new tab.
- Our survey of 70 ice machine rental company websites, August 27, 2026. Full list below.
- Easy Ice: subscription pricing, FAQ, additional charges, and agreement explained. easyice.com/how-it-works/subscription · easyice.com/support/faq · easyice.com/subscription-additional-charges · easyice.com/legal/subscription-agreement-explained
- Wagner Mechanical Leasing contract and price sheet (PDF). wagnermechanicalair.com
- Empire Cooler Service, Terms for Premium Leases, dated July 30, 2026 (PDF). empirecooler.com
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Producer Price Index by Commodity: Commercial Refrigeration Equipment (WPU114803), via FRED. fred.stlouisfed.org
- U.S. EPA, ENERGY STAR Certified Commercial Ice Machines dataset (588 listings analyzed; see our rent vs buy guide for the full analysis). data.energystar.gov
- U.S. Energy Information Administration, Electric Power Monthly, average commercial electricity price, April 2026. eia.gov
- City water and sewer rate schedules: Dallas Water Utilities; Houston Public Works; City of Phoenix Water Services; Atlanta Department of Watershed Management; City of Chicago; New York City Water Board; Denver Water and Denver Wastewater Management; Miami-Dade Water and Sewer; Nashville Metro Water Services; Charlotte Water. codelibrary.amlegal.com · houstonsecured.org · phoenix.gov · atlantawatershed.org · chicago.gov · nyc.gov · denverwater.org · miamidade.gov · nashville.gov · charlottenc.gov
- TaxValet, Which States Charge Sales Tax on Rentals and Leases? (updated October 21, 2025); Sales Tax Institute, How States Tax Rentals of Tangible Personal Property. thetaxvalet.com · salestaxinstitute.com
- Tax Foundation, State and Local Sales Tax Rates, Midyear 2026 (July 6, 2026). taxfoundation.org
- Bagged ice prices from live retailer pages: Sam’s Club, Walmart, BJ’s Wholesale, H-E-B, Target (August 27, 2026). samsclub.com · walmart.com · bjs.com · heb.com · target.com
- Equipment financing and lease estimates: WebstaurantStore product pages (LEAF financing), LeaseIceMachine.com and LeaseHoshizaki.com product pages; purchase prices from KaTom. webstaurantstore.com · leaseicemachine.com · leasehoshizaki.com · katom.com
- Service call cost range ($300 to $1,200): published commercial repair cost guides, as cited in our rent vs buy guide. icemachinefinder.com/resources/rent-vs-buy/
All 70 rental company websites we checked
- Ice Machine Clearance · NY
- Wagner Mechanical Leasing · NY · publishes a price
- Sea Breeze Syrups · NJ
- Crest Foodservice Equipment · VA
- Central York Corporation · VA
- Allegheny Refrigeration · PA
- Young's Cooling & Leasing · MA
- Commercial Refrigeration of Harrisburg · PA
- Brown Carbonic Sales · NY
- American Energy Restaurant Equipment · VA
- General Refrigeration (thesnowflake.com) · NJ
- RJH Rental Equipment · DC
- Memphis Ice Machine Company · TN · publishes a price
- Business Water Solutions · GA · publishes a price
- Florida Ice Machine Services · FL
- Tidy Ice · FL · publishes a price
- IceMasters USA · FL
- Polar Ice Machines · FL
- Crystal Ice (Tampa) · FL · publishes a price
- Reel Thirsty Ice · FL
- Avalanche Ice · FL · publishes a price
- Boer Brothers Restaurant Services · NC · publishes a price
- Nashville Refrigeration · TN
- Tennessee Valley Ice Company · TN
- Cresco Inc · MS
- H2O Technologies · AL
- OBCO Chemical Corporation · SC
- Burlett Refrigeration · LA
- Empire Cooler Service · IL
- Ice Town Leasing · IL
- ICC Cold Storage Products · IN · publishes a price
- Maumee Valley Group · OH · publishes a price
- CR Mechanical · IN
- Capital Equipment (icemachineskc.com) · MO
- Advanced Ice Machine Service (AIM) · KS
- Artic Ice Systems · MN
- Just In Time Refrigeration · WI
- Maass Refrigeration Service · WI
- Star Foodservice Equipment Repair · IA
- Area Wide, Inc. · MO
- Texas Ice Machine Company · TX · publishes a price
- Iceworks (multi-state franchise) · NM
- Lane Equipment Company · TX
- C&W Commercial Services · TX
- El Campo Refrigeration · TX
- Arkansas Ice Solution · AR
- ICETECH Inc · OK
- Imperial Inc. · OK
- Ice Cold AZ (Jim Kidwell Refrigeration) · AZ
- Mountain Sales & Service · CO
- George D. Lewis Company · NV
- Airplus Refrigeration · CA · publishes a price
- Kal-ice · CA · publishes a price
- Dependable Vend · CA
- Ice in SoCal (RRR Refrigeration) · CA
- Light Soda On Tap · CA
- Ice Machine Rentals (Pacific Evergreen) · CA
- Ice Machines of Sacramento · CA
- Draft Doctor (Cathedral Park Ice) · OR · publishes a price
- Automatic Ice (Portland) · OR
- Eastside Ice Machines · WA
- Automatic Ice Company (Boise) · ID
- Aloha Ice Services · HI
- Easy Ice · MI · publishes a price
- LeaseIceMachine.com (A Best Restaurant Equipment) · NH · publishes a price
- Culligan Quench · PA
- Premium Waters · MO
- Pure Water Technology of PA · PA
- Chef's Deal (rental program) · TN
- Crystal Clear Bottled Water · IA · publishes a price